Active Topics |  Search

Login or Register
Forums > SUP > Stand Up Paddle Boarding > SUP Board for a nubie185 pounder?
Author SUP Board for a nubie185 pounder?
Page: of 1
United States
23 Posts
Posted 6/10/2009, 4:46 am        Report
I've been paddling for 4-5 months (nubie) and my main spot to SUP surf is a beach break, but it occasionally breaks 100 - 150 yds out, waist to shoulder high, sometimes bigger. I'm looking for a stable all around board that can handle chop and windy conditions but I dont want something hard to turn/pivot and wrestle with when I'm caught inside. I've zero'd in on the Naish 11'4, PSH 11, and PSH 10'6 WAA but I also heard a PSH 10 WAA is coming out in a few months too. From what I've been reading, SUPs 11' or more are too big for my size? What do you think? Your opinions are greatly appreciated! -Mahalo
VIC
435 Posts
Posted 6/10/2009, 6:56 am        Report
Hi Ray , Welcome to the breeze ! If your looking for a stable board that's good in chop and surfs unreal i would highly recommend the Paddle Surf Hawaii 10'6" wide allrounder.....it's a very popular board. At 185 pounds you should also consider the new 10' Wide allrounder but i have not seen this board yet. The Naish 11'4 is also another very popular longboard style board that is worthy of a demo, you should also check out the new Naish 9'5 Mana if your after a stable board for smaller waves. Go demo these boards. Have fun ! Rich
VIC
835 Posts
Posted 6/10/2009, 7:13 am        Report
Hi Ray, I'm 145lbs and just got a Starboard 10'5" x 30". It's very stable, nice and light and so far seems to be a great all rounder for lighter weight people. As Rich said the Naish 9'5 Mana would also be an excellent option. Good luck with your choice, hard to go wrong with so many good boards on the market. Jonathan
VIC
12587 Posts
Posted 6/10/2009, 7:20 am        Report