Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

SUP/Surf gloves ? any good

Created by Supmaori > 9 months ago, 24 May 2015
Supmaori
746 posts
24 May 2015 4:58PM
Thumbs Up

Hi as winter is approaching and water temperature drops and wind chill factor rises..I'm thinking of purchasing some gloves..I've never used them before and wondering what the pros and cons are of paddling with them. Can you recommend any or give any feedback. Thanks that would be most appreciated..chur

Zeusman
QLD, 1363 posts
24 May 2015 8:36PM
Thumbs Up

I bought some last winter and love them. Apart from the warmth they provide, the extra grip on your paddle shaft is great too.

Seajuice
NSW, 907 posts
24 May 2015 9:39PM
Thumbs Up

HAAa!!! It's getting colder hey! For the first time last winter I wore booties, (RipCurl Bombs), but my fingers have been getting very numb too.
So I then just remembered I had a pair of Cressi brand neoprene diving gloves that I hadn't used for a while. I checked them out a couple of weeks ago & thought perfect! They are fairly thin neoprene with thin soft leather on the palm side of the hand. Should work great. Cannot see any problems using them. As long as you don't lose much feel like thick gloves. One more week & I should be wearing them. Lol!

supthecreek
2583 posts
25 May 2015 1:41AM
Thumbs Up

Just getting some perverse pleasure from this... finally the booty is on the other foot.
Today was my 1st day without a wetsuit

sorry....

Slab
1061 posts
25 May 2015 3:06AM
Thumbs Up

I have used the old Xcel 1.5 gloves past years right through winter .....good grip. They don't make them anymore though.

Grenfell
NSW, 291 posts
25 May 2015 7:10AM
Thumbs Up

hyperflexusa.com/categories/supreme-paddle/

Supmaori
746 posts
25 May 2015 8:59AM
Thumbs Up

awesome thanks guys for the comments. Looks like i will be looking for some gloves!

supthecreek
2583 posts
25 May 2015 6:52PM
Thumbs Up

If you just need a little protection with max comfort and grip... 2mm Ripcurl