Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

Airush Slayer vs North Nugget

Created by ThomasU > 9 months ago, 29 Sep 2016
ThomasU
WA, 31 posts
29 Sep 2016 7:47AM
Thumbs Up

Hi guys
with new season coming shortly would like to by myself new toy .

i am fairly new to directional riding. I would like buy board for those lighter days and small beach waves - I live close to perth mulas spot.
So contemplating one of the above boards. I know I can demo them but since I do not know what I am doing with directionals - That might be of limited value. i am 90 kgs - and I see slayers can be slightly bigger.
Thaks for advice.

Kamikuza
QLD, 6493 posts
29 Sep 2016 1:30PM
Thumbs Up

Which version of Slayer? The first 2 were fun almost-raceboards, the latest one was some kind of wave board . . .

The Slayer is less of a surfing board.

philip ellis
WA, 38 posts
29 Sep 2016 12:32PM
Thumbs Up

In my experience it is very hard to go past the Firewire Vanguard 5'2 or the F-One Fish 5'4. Both are brilliant light wind/high wind small surf boards.

castill0jf
VIC, 563 posts
29 Sep 2016 6:14PM
Thumbs Up

do you know how to surf? it will help. My advice is to buy a used big wide surfboard with small fins or sawing  them to be able to kite on the shallow water. After a few session, you will have more experience and can have a better understanding of boards.  There are so many kite surfboards for sales in Seabreeze. You can pick up boards for less than $500. For surfing small wave the shorter the board the better. I am currently using a 4.8 slingshot allen twister. cheers

note: find a sandy shallow beach, jump on the board and edge. Repeat and repeat.

weebitbreezy
619 posts
29 Sep 2016 5:19PM
Thumbs Up

Although a generic surf board probably won't have straps. I suspect the choice between Nugget and slayer is based around wide boards which have straps.

Dave Whettingsteel
WA, 1396 posts
29 Sep 2016 7:46PM
Thumbs Up

Nuggets are great, but not so good riding a big swell.