Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

Kite Selection - hype vs specs & your recommendati

Created by rollo19 > 9 months ago, 22 Jan 2011
rollo19
WA, 93 posts
22 Jan 2011 11:11AM
Thumbs Up

Anyone else having a hard time deciphering manufacturer marketing **** from actual flight performance?

Is there a good site for choosing a kite? I'm not experienced enough yet to be able to look at a kite and figure how it will fly. I've only learnt on a Torch - love it, fast & responsive but wind range is poor.

From what I read on http://kitesurfingschool.org/kite.htm, we could classify kites as TRACTOR, ALL ROUND or SPEED. I think I'd like to try a Tractor for those variable days in waves & downwinders.

Tractor (Wake Style, Wave, Gusty Wind):
Moderate - Low AR
High Lift
Moderate Lift/Drag
High - Very High AoA

All Around
Moderate AR
Moderate Lift
High - Moderate Lift/Drag
Low AoA

Speed (High Jump, Freestyle) - I gather these are best for cutting & body dragging upwind?
High AR
Moderate Lift
High Lift/Drag
Low - Very Low AoA

Can anyone take a stab at classifying some of the popular options out there as above? Ozone Edge I think must be a 'Speed' kite ..

koma
VIC, 760 posts
22 Jan 2011 2:57PM
Thumbs Up

Look at the kite AR and that'll give you a pretty good indication.
This doesn't always hold true though, especially with the different delta style kites and the myriad of crossovers between the different styles (delta, delta-SLE, SLE, SLE-C, high depower-C, etc).

Best just looking through the beginner-intermediate kite recommendations and talking to your local schools and kite shops to find something that suits your experience and conditions.
After all, you wouldn't just buy a car based on the brochure... right?

Saffer
VIC, 4501 posts
22 Jan 2011 3:10PM
Thumbs Up

koma said...

Look at the kite AR and that'll give you a pretty good indication.