Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

North Neo, 5th element or quad bar

Created by Monfils525 > 9 months ago, 5 Oct 2016
Monfils525
32 posts
5 Oct 2016 5:17AM
Thumbs Up

Hi guys,

I'm interested in your stance on the Neo or the Evo with the 5 line bar vs the 4 line bar. They both have that 5th line tucked in a pocket. Does that improve riding, or does it actually make things worse?
What are the pros and contras, and which one are you going with?

I do also have Rebels, so I have the 5th element bar, but until now I have been using a 22 m Quad bar for my 2015 7 and 9 m Neos.

JBFletch
QLD, 1285 posts
5 Oct 2016 10:39AM
Thumbs Up

Hey mate,

The NEO and EVO are both based on the 4line bar. (quad bar) and its designed to fly on it. For personal preference both kites can be also flown with the 5th line bar. Its doesn't really affect the kite, but its an option.
For waves tho, the 4 line is normally the choice, as it takes away the possibility of getting the kite "bowtied" when rolled in surf with a 5th line.

On the other hand the REBEL and VEGAS are designed to be flown on the 5th line only (loaded 5th line) It supports the structure of the canopy and helps it fly. Without it the kite would fold up and wouldn't fly properly.

Before the intro of the 100% depower Quad bar (in 2015) i used a 5thline bar for the crazy southerly fronts we got in Sydney.
But with the new safety feature i find the quad works for everything.

enjoy

Monfils525
32 posts
5 Oct 2016 9:01AM
Thumbs Up

Hey there!

So you would say that the Neo acts all the same with the 4 vs the 5 line bar?
Have you had to change any lines or other parts on your bars?

Dave Whettingsteel
WA, 1356 posts
5 Oct 2016 10:55AM
Thumbs Up

Definitely go the 4 line for the Neo. Its relaunch ability after getting smashed tumbled and turned is remarkable.
Even if it did fly better on 5 lines, (I've never tried), no way would you want to compromise the relaunch with a 5th line.

JoeMc
WA, 92 posts
5 Oct 2016 1:30PM
Thumbs Up