Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

OZONE REO 2016 Vs RRD Religion MK6 2016

Created by wheels > 9 months ago, 7 Jan 2017
wheels
WA, 203 posts
7 Jan 2017 11:27PM
Thumbs Up

Hi
I have been kiting for about 5 years and I have only ever used Ozone Reos, but want to try something else, I love the REO but looking for something with similar performance but more durability, RRD religion looks pretty good and wondering if any RRD religion users out their can give me any feed back, also not sure on sizing I am 88kg and looking at a 9 and 12 in the religion, have a 8 10 and 12 in REOS at the moment, level is intermediate to advanced and mainly waves but like to bit of jumping when no swell, never used a twin tip, s/board only any feed back appreciated.
Thanks

castill0jf
VIC, 563 posts
8 Jan 2017 7:31AM
Thumbs Up

I demo a 10 meter RRD Religion one month ago. It has a lot more power than REO and turns as quick. I crashed it a few times and the bladder or the kite survive. Quick relaunch. Time can only confirm if the kite is bomb proof kite. I was kiting on the bay tiny wind waves and can't tell you if they drift better than the REOs. The kite is in my buck list.

wheels
WA, 203 posts
8 Jan 2017 10:01AM
Thumbs Up

Thanks Castill
I was hoping the religion was more powerful as would love to get smaller kites than I have now but not lose any power, I still nervous to pick sizes as want to go from 3 kite quiver to 2

castill0jf
VIC, 563 posts
8 Jan 2017 7:16PM
Thumbs Up

I think there is a RRD dealer in WA. Always demo 1st. Sometimes I go to the beach with 1 kite two boards and 6 meter extension. The wind range is big with the equation.

cheers

Wilderide
39 posts
9 Jan 2017 12:40PM
Thumbs Up

I fly a 7m 2016 religion, I'm 70kgs, for holding ground in the waves, I have a few different boards.. I really low volume grom firewire board. I need 22 knots to hold ground, on that board. My 2013 north whip I can hold ground at 20 knots.