Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

Varial X 2014 vs Ozone C4 2014 Opinions?

Created by prastis > 9 months ago, 15 May 2016
prastis
68 posts
15 May 2016 7:42PM
Thumbs Up

Guys I am in the search of buying a second kite to complete my quiver up to say 27-28 knots. I have been riding for 2 years now on and off, and I am interested in getting into freestyle/ wakestyle in the near future. I am in the stage where I am doing some hooked in railies to get my load and pop sorted out, and will start attempting backrolls and frontrolls soon enough I hope.

As far as jumping is related I perform some adequate jumps, with sufficient control but not any looping yet. My current kite is a 12m ozone catalyst 2014. I am thinking of adding a 9m or 10m if its more of a C kite.

Having said that I have now found two used offers within the UK which I am not sure which one to choose.

1st option is a 9m Varial X 2014, with no bar at 300 GBP. The kite has been used for like 30 sessions, has no repairs or pinholes and looks in good condition. From what I have read from different reviews this kite would be a great addition to my quiver. I am planning on using this kite with my ozone bar which I recently had the lines changed and its working very nice. If I would buy the bar from the seller it would add 100 GBP.

2nd option I have found out is a 10m 2014 c4 at 435GBP with bar, not much use, seller says its in nearly new condition. My only concern with the c4 is that maybe I am not ready for it yet. Although catalyst is a kite that needs to be worked in order to get it going I believe ( I dont think its a park and ride kite), the aggresiveness of the c4 its something that worries me. On the other hand though in the near future when I would advance a little bit my next quiver would be c4s (at least thats what it was in my mind).