Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

JP Australia Widebody 8'2" My 6 month use review.

Created by Seajuice > 9 months ago, 1 Mar 2015
Seajuice
NSW, 349 posts
1 Mar 2015 8:35PM
Thumbs Up

I am about 5ft 10 inches tall & weigh about 80kgs plus/minus 3kgs.

I have been using my 2014 Wood JP Widebody 8'2" SUP for about 6 months since coming from my first learner SUP an Atlantis Vex Profusion bamboo model at 9'6" which was in my opinion a great strong board that served me well & at its heavy weight was surprisingly easy to turn. Thanks to the Surfboard Warehouse. Oh, & a good low price too!

My first jump onto the JP felt no different. Stable as!! The JP being 32" wide at 124 litres. The Vex at 30" wide at about 148 litres.

In the surf & most times it is not glassy & can have some chop & side waves from a breakwall & a steep shoreline causing back swell , I found the front/nose rocker to be low entry. Too low for my liking but mainly on take off. Why?!!
Because it nosed dived quite easily at the top of the wave which would then cause me to lean backwards to get the nose back up, then I would have to lean forward again to avoid slipping backwards! Then I would have to get to my surfing side stance which would waste my valuable focus time on what lay or broke ahead, Lol!!!

But once going this board was absolutely great fun & surprisingly fast enough & easy to turn once I got my back foot near the back pad. Although it did help even more to move my back foot to the right rail for a sharper right turn, then to the left rail for the left turn because of the wider tail, but! wasn't always necessary with the back foot far enough back.
One more negative because of the wider nose & flat entry rocker I found at times when riding a wave face, I would for no apparent reason, flip the board sideways. I believe this was caused by the front down side rail digging in.

My surfing rectifications for this board:-