Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

Newbie with another board question

Created by Macsup > 9 months ago, 25 Jan 2015
Macsup
WA, 10 posts
25 Jan 2015 8:39PM
Thumbs Up

Hi all,

First let me thank all of you for a great deal of information. Been reading all the posts for beginners and it has saved me a lot of time and errors of judgement.

I am a large beginner looking for a board for mainly flat water and small swell. I have tried some boards and narrowed my selections down to 2

Naish Glide 12" or
Fanatic Fly 11"6

Liked both, the fly felt more stable but the glide was faster on water. Leaning towards the Fly at moment.

Here are my questions,

1) do I risk the glide knowing when I get fitter/better will give me more touring options, or stick with the fly?

2) HRS v Pure construction. as HRS is near my limit for $$$ so will have to keep cheap paddle or buy pure and a carbon paddle ?

Both boards were demo on flat water, but want to get into ocean once able!

Any thoughts are welcome.

Cheers

LordKuz
NSW, 260 posts
26 Jan 2015 9:35AM
Thumbs Up

My 5 cents:Both nice boards - but actually very different. Id be saying The Fly - if you thought you were going to do more than just ride "a lump" across a bay or protected beach, as its a better "surf board" - its a good "all rounder" as you probably have read. The Glide is a far more specific design - a very good one, nonetheless.As for HRS Vs Pure - the HRS are very tough... and Id be saving the dollars for a good paddle.In the end.. no one is going to say "oh, no.. dont buy the _____ " - and you probably have an instinct right now about what you want. If you feel later that you should get something else, and you probably will get another board down the track... then they both have good resale value... or something you may want to keep as your first commissioned board of your forthcoming fleet! Go for it!

DavidJohn
VIC, 17408 posts
26 Jan 2015 12:53PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
Macsup said...
Hi all,