Forums > Stand Up Paddle   Board Talk & Reviews

Starboard Allstar or Naish Glide

Created by Yamba4 > 9 months ago, 23 Apr 2017
Yamba4
NSW, 26 posts
23 Apr 2017 9:53AM
Thumbs Up

Hi all,
need some advice from this awesome forum!
Looking at buying my first cruising board, at this stage to be used in flat to choppy river conditions for fitness and training. eventually hopefully bit of ocean and ankle slappers. I'm looking at either Starby Allstar 14 foot by 27inches wide or Naish Glide 14 foot by 29 inches. I am 180cm tall weigh in at under 80kg.
If I go the Allstar should I go carbon or heavier cheaper version? If I go the Glide should I go the GS or GTW?
I've been supping now for about 6 months.
thanks in advance
Greg

mpg56
NSW, 14 posts
24 Apr 2017 2:15PM
Thumbs Up

Time to get this back up the top. I would like to know peoples thoughts on this also......

Ozfabs
2 posts
24 Apr 2017 1:06PM
Thumbs Up

I have the 2017 Allstar 14 x 24.5 in Starlight and love it. Im 6'2 and 80kg. Had it out surfing yesterday (2ft waves). Heaps of fun. Still very light in the new Starlight construction.
The difference between the carbon and Starlight is approx 800g and $1500.

JEG
VIC, 1469 posts
24 Apr 2017 3:58PM
Thumbs Up

Had both except my naish glide was 12'6" x 30. The SB AS a bit light and with some speed but the Naish Glide will give you that extra stability and can handle the rougher condition for your height, weight and skill level. As Ozfabs said above about the SB AS cost for less weight ^. The Naish GS to GTW is $1000 more for less weight of ~2kg. I think either board will do the job, it's really up to your taste.

stubear
36 posts
24 Apr 2017 6:58PM
Thumbs Up