Forums > Windsurfing General

Funstar/ RRD

Created by Nev350 > 9 months ago, 1 Feb 2015
Nev350
WA, 13 posts
1 Feb 2015 8:03PM
Thumbs Up

Hello everyone good someone please advise me, I am still a beginner still learning to water start and handle higher wind strengths and I have been up to now sailing on a 145 ltr jp funstar my wife now wants to learn to sail so I am thinking of donating the funstar to her, my question is i have been looking at a RRD evolution 148ltr as another board for myself. I am just a little concerned I a am going backwards in board selection not forward but please correct me if I am wrong. I am about 75 kg if this helps.

Sputnik11
VIC, 972 posts
1 Feb 2015 11:10PM
Thumbs Up

In my opinion you are going backwards. If you're handling the 145 well, then maybe think about something in the 120ltr range. Depends on a few things: how much do you weigh? Do you get the 145ltr planing? Are you in footstraps? Do you use a harness?

If you're 90kg or less and yes to the other questions, you're ready for something smaller. Like everything, its not black and white. But personally, I think go a bit smaller.

Sputnik11
VIC, 972 posts
1 Feb 2015 11:18PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
Sputnik11 said..
In my opinion you are going backwards. If you're handling the 145 well, then maybe think about something in the 120ltr range. Depends on a few things: how much do you weigh? Do you get the 145ltr planing? Are you in footstraps? Do you use a harness?

If you're 90kg or less and yes to the other questions, you're ready for something smaller. Like everything, its not black and white. But personally, I think go a bit smaller.

Sorry - didn't see the last line. I am 75kgs as well. 120 ltrs will work fine for you while you're still learning. You'll be able to uphaul as well as waterstart.

Sailhack
VIC, 5000 posts
1 Feb 2015 11:23PM
Thumbs Up