Forums > Windsurfing General

Resort Advice

Created by PKenny > 9 months ago, 15 Jan 2014
PKenny
SA, 236 posts
15 Jan 2014 3:09PM
Thumbs Up

G'day people,
Some advice on a "nice" resort in the pacific that I can go surfing and get some windsurfing in.
Around May will be my time of travel and somebody else is calling it a "honeymoon" so it will have to have a few stars attached to the name.
Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Cheers PK

Wineman
NSW, 1412 posts
15 Jan 2014 4:48PM
Thumbs Up

Mururoa Atoll (French resort)

Dean 424
NSW, 440 posts
15 Jan 2014 6:27PM
Thumbs Up

Forget it, your sailing days are over!!!

felixdcat
WA, 3519 posts
15 Jan 2014 4:41PM
Thumbs Up

Don't do it so you will be well cashed up and be able to afford the Canaries ........ best wind that time of the year!
Remember getting married is the most expensive way to get your laundry done!
I am an expert been twice stupid

Gonebush
NSW, 160 posts
16 Jan 2014 9:53AM
Thumbs Up

Stayed at a Fijian resort called Matanivusi in April 2012. It's a boutique resort set on a lagoon on the South Coast (Coral Coast) of Viti Levu. Quite pricey but it completely caters for surfers and non surfing partners. There's a couple of decent breaks in the immediate vicinity and they also go to Frigates Passage, which is about 20 minutes away. Unfortunately it never got over about 3-4 foot when I was there, 2 foot most of the time, although it was plenty windy at times and I think the lagoon area (and breaks) could have been windsurfed on a high tide (I didn't take any windsurfing gear).

I've previously stayed at Musket Cove Resort in Fiji previously. It's along side Plantation Island resort. Both are family resorts (MC is probably slightly more up market) that have a boat that access Cloud Break, Restaurants, Wilkies Passage, etc. Awesome article here from somebody with bigger testicles than me:

www.windsurf.co.uk/featured/the-punters-guide-to-sailing-15-foot-cloudbreak/