Forums > Windsurfing   Gps and Speed talk

GW52 guide

Created by decrepit > 9 months ago, 26 Oct 2015
decrepit
WA, 11881 posts
26 Oct 2015 4:59PM
Thumbs Up

Now that the GW52 is on the market, and the Main GW52 thread is several pages long, it's a bit hard to find stuff you need, so I'll try and list them here.
Firstly if you can't find one locally, Surf Sail Australia sells them online.
www.surfsailaustralia.com.au/listProductByBrand/Locosys/Windsurfing/GPS+and+Windmeter

The set up guide, usb driver and firmware from locosys is here
www.locosystech.com/en/product/gps-handheld-data-logger-gw-52.html

I've been using my test version now for several months and prefer it to the GT31, it's smaller, lighter and 5hz, giving more accurate 2 seconds and alpha results.
The speed genie scrolling screen displays, last run max with Ns max, history max with Ns max and accumulated distance.

The main down side is for the distance people, at 5hz a big distance will use up all the memory, so it needs to be set on 1hz, loosing the 2s and alpha gains in accuracy. The battery only does about 8hrs, so a quick recharge at lunch time is needed.

It has (smart logging) where it only records at 5hz above the speed genie setting, sounds like a very sensible idea, but our analyse software hasn't caught up with this concept yet and a change in frequency during an alpha will lead to it's rejection as an anomaly, so my advice is to leave it on 5hz for sessions up to 6hrs long over that set to 1hz

The scrolling rate of the speed genie display is also adjustable. The optimum setting for this will be a personal thing, for this tied old brain I need it fairly slow, otherwise I can't process the info before it disappears. For younger brains this could be frustratingly slow, waiting for the window you want to come into view.

And it's not fully waterproof, it should survive a small leak in the pouch if you notice it quick enough though.