Forums > Windsurfing Gear Reviews

Naish Force 3 2016 version

Created by Rob0104 > 9 months ago, 18 Aug 2017
Rob0104
89 posts
18 Aug 2017 4:20AM
Thumbs Up

Hi all, thought I would share my thoughts is the 2016 Naish 3 batten forces. I have been using Force 5's for a few years now. I bought a 2012 quiver originally and upgraded to the 2016's last year. The main difference I noticed with the 16's is they rig with a lot less down haul and tune more on the outhaul, similar to the newer Goya banzai'. The result seems to give the sails more stability over a wider wind range. Both he 12's and 16's have loads of power as we've come to expect from 5 batten sails.
Having sailed the Banzai's on trips away and being very impressed with the performance of the 4 batten setup it started me thinking about the 3 batten Naish's. long storey short I got a 4.5 and 5.0 for my 85 and 105 Quatro cube's respectively. I've had a chance to use both in cross off conditions and have to say I really like them . They rig with a touch more down haul than the Force 5's and just enough outhaul to keep the sail off the boom when powered up . I would recommend longer than normal lines, I'm on 34" MFC's which seem to work well as my stance is a bit more upright when sailing with the Force 3's.
General sailing is fine, obviously the sail isn't as solid feeling as a 5 batten ,but getting upwind quickly isn't a problem . Dealing with gusts is easy enough as the longer lines and slightly more upright stance makes sheeting out very natural. Lulls, well the sail seems to find a bit extra to keep u planing effortlessly. Jumping is great as the light feel of these sails will give confidence in rotations . Which brings me to wave riding . On dropping in for my first bottom turn I was stoked with the combination of light feel and power as I bottom turned, moving up into the lip I felt the transition is a lot smoother and easier than the pull that my 5 battens offer.