Style: Freeriding, Surf,
Weather: 12 -20 knots onshore to cross onshore
Waves: crappy shoulder high wind waves breaking on a reef edge
Kite: Cabrinha SB3 12m
Build Quality: 9/10
Satisfaction: 8/10
Disclosure: no shop affiliations

http://www.naishkites.com/2008/en/products/custom_wave.html

I had been thinking for some time about board options that would allow me to squeeze a bit more out of our mushy little onshore waves than my 135x40 TT. I had been riding my 7'2" surfboard unstrapped for a few months late last year, and while it was fun, it was starting to put pressure dents in the deck, and the board was a bit too big to cope with the wave and kite power at the same time. I was after something smaller, with the option of straps, and strong enough to be thrown into a few jumps if need be.

I was tossing up between a "standard" kite surfboard about 6'0", or a wave mutant like the RRD Toxic wave or Spleene Zone, when the chance came up to pick up a 2008 Naish Fish 5'5" twin at a good price. I grabbed the board and have been pretty happy with it so far, after about 10 sessions.

The board is 5'5" x 20" x 2 3/8" with the widest point just in front of the front foot strap, a deep retro fish tail, and really light weight. It has a lot of nose rocker and a deep single concave through the front section, grading into a flat tail. The twin fins have a little bit of toe-in and are slightly larger than a typical thruster side fin (don't have measurements to hand), and they are mounted close to the rail and further back than a thruster fin. There are good quality pads on the deck, with a grip finish between the fore and aft pads. I added a little wax to the area around the front pad. The footstraps are OK, but not the most comfortable things I have ever used, and a little on the large size. I just fit into them on the smallest setting and I am size 11. They are connected to the board with quad screws for each strap, and there are three possible strap positions.