Forums > Kitesurfing   South Australia

New to Adelaide

Created by tlpur1 > 9 months ago, 29 May 2014
tlpur1
1 posts
29 May 2014 7:52AM
Thumbs Up

Hi,

I'm new to Adelaide and looking for places / people to kite with. I'm pretty new having only one season under my belt in Melbourne. Realise this time of the year isn't ideal, but let me know I you're keen.

Cheers

KiterBen
SA, 161 posts
29 May 2014 11:16AM
Thumbs Up

Refer to the topic ( Learning late in the season ) in the SA section.

Lots of info there about places. In regards to people to kite with just head to your local beach and mingle you will find most people like a kite and a chat.

Kiteboarding SA
SA, 262 posts
16 Jun 2014 9:58AM
Thumbs Up

Hi tlpur1,

How are you mate?

You can check out the SAKSA.com.au website for details of where you can and can't kite in Adelaide. It's a bit of a must, because we have some beaches that are well out of bounds, but we work hard with council to ensure their support with other lengths of beach too. It's more than just fluffy dogs and old ladies, there's Civil Aviation and a few things like that to be mindful of. But if you have any questions at all along the way, please don't hesitate to flick SAKSA an email and just ask. We're here to help mate! :)

Cheers,
Jordan
SAKSA

koshi
SA, 201 posts
18 Jun 2014 7:48AM
Thumbs Up

Can i get a tag on the day from someone at Haven if i kite there, or do i have to pre purchase?

mick14
SA, 343 posts
18 Jun 2014 9:37PM
Thumbs Up

Hi Koshi

the only way to get a tag is to join SAKSA. That way the Council knows you have the required insurances.

The other reason the Council likes you to be a member of SAKSA is the Code of Conduct and self-policing aspect of the association. When I say self-policing, I mean you might get a tap on the shoulder and a polite chat if someone from the association sees you not doing the right thing.

kitepolice
SA, 20 posts
24 Jun 2014 3:52PM
Thumbs Up