GPS-SS down temporarily

> 10 years ago
Reply
Register to post, see what you've read, and subscribe to topics.
sailquik
sailquik
VIC
6171 posts
VIC, 6171 posts
13 May 2008 11:40am
The GPS-Speedsurfing .com crew asked me to pass on that the website was subject to a virus attack yesterday and has been taken off the web for maintenance.
If you tried to access the site yesterday and if you did not have an up to date virus checker running at the time you might want to scan your computer just to be sure there are no nasties. I found that when I opened the site with Explorer my virus checker caught a java script Trojan virus called 'jb downloader'. It did not seem to affect my computer when I opened GPS-SS in Firefox so if you used that browser you may be safe.
nebbian
nebbian
WA
6277 posts
WA, 6277 posts
13 May 2008 11:58am
If it's the same one that's been doing the rounds it's pretty darn nasty -- the Boards.co.uk forum has been having the same trouble.

From memory it's a MySQL injection attack, only windows servers are vulnerable, and the attackers load all sorts of malware onto the website so that anyone who logs on gets infected.

archive.f-secure.com/weblog/archives/00001427.html

I hope they backed up recently...
Haggar
Haggar
QLD
1670 posts
QLD, 1670 posts
13 May 2008 2:06pm
Got it as well, symantec caught it OK ........ I sent email to them to let them know, but I guess they do already in a big way
25
25
WA
319 posts
25 25
WA, 319 posts
13 May 2008 12:29pm
McAfee caught it for me as well.
I opened the site in the morning , got sidetracked with something else, and when I came back the viruscan alert window was open and the scanner had blocked about 3 script executions and 4 downloads. Ugly!
latedropeddy
latedropeddy
VIC
417 posts
VIC, 417 posts
13 May 2008 11:38pm
must be some disgruntled speedie??
nebbian
nebbian
WA
6277 posts
WA, 6277 posts
13 May 2008 10:37pm
More likely a botnet master. They aren't interested in taking down the site, they're after control of your computer so that your computer can then send spam to all and sundry. Loading their malware onto a forum is a good way to infect lots of computers, all at once.

Quite a clever little hack, all things considered, but still extremely nasty...

Laurie assures me that Seabreeze is immune *thank goodness!*
Please Register, or first...
Topics Subscribe Reply