Forums > Stand Up Paddle General

Dreaming of Bali video on VBox

Created by porchey73 > 9 months ago, 3 Dec 2015
porchey73
QLD, 78 posts
3 Dec 2015 7:17PM
Thumbs Up

ok here goes...

So I can't go to Bali this year and i was going through some footage that i shot last year while on an extended holiday with my wife and two kids and thought i would put this up to share. I think that travelling is excellent with these style of boards and I was able to commute on mopeds to different surf spots all along the coast. As a result i was pretty much surfing by myself most of the time ( as you can see from the footage) I had a blast and surfed myself silly for four and and a half weeks and did the dad/family tourist things as well and stayed in a range of accommodation. My wife and kids loved it and my youngest learnt how to swim there which saved me about a grand in swim fees... i am kind of new to this video embed thing and hopefully it works. Make sure your little kids aren't watching with you as there is an f bomb in the song i chose. This link works on my laptop but not on my mobile device (apologies) I will try to work on my video embedding skills on my holidays..if it fails and you have a computer you can search under Gulliver VBox Porchey 2014 on youtube... The board in this clip has returned to Indo without me and Guy Baker is riding it in some beautiful waves now in Lombok...

Chris_M
2129 posts
3 Dec 2015 6:20PM
Thumbs Up

Good on you, some useful tips there.

Especially interested to hear that you managed to combine an excellent surf trip with wife and kids in tow, nicely done!

My current strategy is to make surf trips sound as feral as possible, then invite wife and kid, to which they will decline. Then I go it alone. Don't reckon I could manage over a month away though, that might be pushing it haha

Macaha
QLD, 21870 posts
3 Dec 2015 8:32PM
Thumbs Up

Nice clip thanks

porchey73
QLD, 78 posts
3 Dec 2015 8:35PM
Thumbs Up